RSS Facebook twitter

Adult Leader Recognition

Silver Beaver Award

The Silver Beaver Award, presented annually upon the action of a Council Executive Board, is the highest award that a Council can present to a volunteer. This award is for outstanding service to youth at the Council level or for outstanding longtime service to youth by a registered Scouter residing within the Shenandoah Area Council.

To nominate an outstanding Scouter for this prestigious award, complete the “Silver Beaver Nomination” form and submit it to the Shenandoah Area Council.  Nomination forms for the next Council Volunteer Recognition Dinner are due to the Council office by December 31st.

For the Silver Beaver Nomination Form, click HERE

District Award of Merit

The District Award of Merit is awarded by a District to volunteer and professional adults for service to youth in the District. Normally, the award is presented for service to youth in excess of five years. Candidates for this award must be nominated. Self-nomination disqualifies the candidate.  For the District Award of Merit form, click HERE.

Unit Leader Training Awards

In 2011, the National Council’s Awards Committee conducted a review of the hundreds of awards presented to Scouts and adults in the BSA. Many recommendations were made to update procedures and the awards themselves.

Among the recommendations was the update of the unit leader training awards requirements and a review of the Cub Scout leader recognition awards. These recommendations have been reviewed by the national volunteer training committee and a task force of unit-level leaders. Some awards have been eliminated and all of the requirements for the remaining awards have been updated.

The forms and requirements have been simplified. The committees do not believe that means easier. They are along the same lines and “degree of difficulty” as the previous requirements, but will be less complicated and consistent across the awards and the phases of the Scouting program.

The training awards and keys are designed to recognize unit Scouters for tenure, basic and continuing training, and successful performance in their leadership role.

The changes and other considerations:

The Cubmaster Award has been discontinued. Cubmasters may now earn the Scouter’s Key Award and may wear the Scouter’s Key knot with a Cub Scouting device.

The Cub Scouter and Pack Trainer Awards have been discontinued. Cub Scout pack leaders may earn the Scouter’s Training Award and may wear the Scouter’s Training Award knot with a Cub Scouting device.

The Tiger Cub and Webelos Den Leader’s Awards have been discontinued. All den leaders may earn a new Den Leader’s Training Award medal that is being created, and may wear the Den Leader’s Training Award knot (identical to the previous Cub Scout Den Leader Award knot) with the appropriate device. A Tiger Cub den leader device is also being developed.

Scouters who have earned the old awards will still be able to wear the old awards and knots.

Boy Scouting, Varsity Scouting, and Venturing awards, knots, and devices have not been changed. Only the requirements have been updated.

Progress record forms with the new requirements for these awards can be found at